Havoc select 15 in first TLL Entry Draft

by Scott Ludwig

Team protected lists have been set, staff are in place and now a new group of potential players have been welcomed to the Tri-City Havoc. Tewaaraton Lacrosse League held its first-ever TLL Entry Draft on Thursday with each of the four member clubs drafting 15 players.

Five players who are currently signed with National Lacrosse League teams were drafted by the Havoc, including Tanner Buck who also has Arena Lacrosse League experience. Tyler Halls, Owen Friesen, Dustyn Pratt and Curtis Conley are the other four.

Of the remaining 10 drafted players six currently play NCAA Division I lacrosse, two with CUFLA experience and one player from both NCAA Division II and III levels.

The league is scheduled to begin the TLL Championship Series on August 12. The circuit also announced a Young Guns Division for players born in 2002 or younger. Schedules will be released soon.

Tri-City Havoc draftees

1 Seth Van Schepen, Siena College

2 Tanner Buck, Toronto Monarchs (ALL)/Georgia Swarm (NLL)

3 Tyler Halls, Vancouver Warriors (NLL)

4 Zack Deaken, Jacksonville University

5 Carter Zavitz, Princeton University

6 Owen Grant, University of Delaware

7 Owen Friesen, Halifax Thunderbirds (NLL)

8 Dustyn Pratt, Rochester Knighthawks (NLL)

9 Brayden Mayea, High Point University

10 Marley Angus, Rochester Institute of Technology

11 Nathan Grenon, Mercyhurst University

12 Curtis Conley, Trent University/Whitby Steelhawks (ALL)/Colorado Mammoth (NLL)

13 Jonathan Gagliardi, Western University

14 Sam Haines, Georgetown (Ontario)

15 Zack Kearney, University of Massachusetts